One choice can transform you

So, I know I should be reading Inferno at the moment, and I am! But there was a book on the list of recommended books for me on Amazon that caught my interest because of the very nice cover. I’m talking about Divergent by Veronica Roth. Because the sample for my Kindle was just one click away, I decided to see if I’d like this book at all. I started reading it last night when I was supposed to go to bed after watching The Hobbit again. It was 1am. Six hours later I realize that at some point I had finished the short sample (a few chapters long) and had bought the whole book and read over a half of it. The only reason I had to stop reading was that I couldn’t remember what I had read five minutes ago and I could barely keep my eyes open. The last time this happened to me was when I read the Hunger Games.

Divergent coverThe book was a little odd, in the way that I really liked it even though I didn’t really understand what was going on some of the time. There wasn’t that much of a backstory. Sure, some basic things were explained as you read on and such, but for most of the time I got the feeling that it was  expected that you just go with it. It’s a way of writing I’ve been trying to figure out, but I can’t seem to stop trying to put everything down there for people to read and process. Maybe reading this series will show me a way to do that, haha. That said, I still liked it. It was an iteresting climbse to a world that I’d like to know more about. The characters were mostly interesting, even if the story went a bit too fast some of the time. Sometimes the same kind of things just kept going on and on and on (the training and how the main character wasn’t really sure where she really belonged), until suddenly you had skipped five steps ahead and what just happened?

But the fact that I finished the book within a day, barely in 6 hours says a lot. I liked it, couldn’t put it down and now I want to know what happens next. All in all, a successful book, no?

Synopsis of Divergend, Book 1 by Veronica Roth:
In Beatrice Prior’s dystopian Chicago world, society is divided into five factions, each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue–Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). On an appointed day of every year, all sixteen-year-olds must select the faction to which they will devote the rest of their lives. For Beatrice, the decision is between staying with her family and being who she really is–she can’t have both. So she makes a choice that surprises everyone, including herself.

During the highly competitive initiation that follows, Beatrice renames herself Tris and struggles alongside her fellow initiates to live out the choice they have made. Together they must undergo extreme physical tests of endurance and intense psychological simulations, some with devastating consequences. As initiation transforms them all, Tris must determine who her friends really are–and where, exactly, a romance with a sometimes fascinating, sometimes exasperating boy fits into the life she’s chosen. But Tris also has a secret, one she’s kept hidden from everyone because she’s been warned it can mean death. And as she discovers unrest and growing conflict that threaten to unravel her seemingly perfect society, she also learns that her secret might help her save those she loves . . . or it might destroy her.

Leave a comment